Jump to content


[RIP] All heavy infantry should have a brace ability against frontal charge


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

RTKgotterfunkenMD #21 Posted 31 January 2018 - 03:30 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 88
  • Member since:
    12-18-2016
That video is the example on why i rage quit this game like 457 times since 2016.

Jakerp #22 Posted 31 January 2018 - 10:05 AM

    Centurio Hastatus Prior

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 527
  • Member since:
    11-09-2011

View PostSUNTZU_DarkDusT, on 31 January 2018 - 12:08 AM, said:

 

Ah, I see what you mean. 

Yes Germanicus charge is stronger than the weak attempt of Cav charge in your video.

But this isn't on topic, roman infantry can be played on more than one general, and it still doesn't explain a front charge interaction (with positive buffs towards tanking it)

 

I tought that charge mechanic where damage is highly decided who lauched charge first is only applied to cavalry vs. cavalry charges not infantry vs. cavalry charges. :D

Edited by Jakerp, 31 January 2018 - 10:06 AM.


_Barosz_ #23 Posted 31 January 2018 - 12:08 PM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 73
  • Member since:
    04-15-2012
From what I know only one statistic is calculated is Impact damage, who has more wins.
This is probably the reason for a single-sided charge.
Only a response that raises more questions is a good answer..

CA_Jamie #24 Posted 31 January 2018 - 12:45 PM

    Munifex

  • Creative Assembly
  • 67
  • Member since:
    11-02-2016

The winner of a charge is decided through a combination of charge impact vs charge impact, and who charged first. In cases of cavaly vs infantry, the cavalry will usually have a charge impact so much higher that charging first doesn't help :)

After the 'winner' is decided, 'charge bonus' is applied as damage, rolled against the defender's armour.



PaiNzzz #25 Posted 31 January 2018 - 01:17 PM

    Optio Centuriae

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 197
  • Member since:
    07-23-2011

View PostCA_Jamie, on 31 January 2018 - 02:45 PM, said:

The winner of a charge is decided through a combination of charge impact vs charge impact, and who charged first. In cases of cavaly vs infantry, the cavalry will usually have a charge impact so much higher that charging first doesn't help :)

After the 'winner' is decided, 'charge bonus' is applied as damage, rolled against the defender's armour.

 

Who charged first? Does that matter only as long as the maximum speed has not been reached or even after that? Why would who charged first count if both combatants have achieved the maximum effect of their respective charge? (ie accelerated to maximum speed etc)

Raider_Tr #26 Posted 31 January 2018 - 02:05 PM

    Centurion

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 273
  • Member since:
    07-26-2013

Not the right place but I really don't like the charge mechanics..


Sure one of the opponents should deal more damage but why the other must be (nearly) destroyed while the "Winner" doesn't get a scratch done by his opponent?

But atm even if both sides have the same unit, similar timing etc. it won't matter as one will be the 'Loser' anyway right?

 

*Charge mechanics explained once: 

http://forum.totalwa..._st__20#topmost



ThatPikeGuy #27 Posted 31 January 2018 - 02:26 PM

    Optio Centuriae

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 234
  • Member since:
    06-04-2017
The ping was 200 ish so it's pretty hard to see + the bitrate doesn't help at all.
pls buff pike surfing

Jakerp #28 Posted 31 January 2018 - 04:11 PM

    Centurio Hastatus Prior

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 527
  • Member since:
    11-09-2011

View PostPaiNzzz, on 31 January 2018 - 01:17 PM, said:

 

Who charged first? Does that matter only as long as the maximum speed has not been reached or even after that? Why would who charged first count if both combatants have achieved the maximum effect of their respective charge? (ie accelerated to maximum speed etc)

 

Higher charge impact stat more forgiving system is about correct time window to lauch charge but only up to the point. But rule thumb is that generally dude who activated charge earlier wins if it hits.

nikepetros #29 Posted 01 February 2018 - 09:19 AM

    Centurion

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 331
  • Member since:
    09-19-2015

View PostIm_Melliana_I_burn_you, on 29 January 2018 - 11:47 PM, said:

i understand for barb and roman but not for the greek. They are made for that.

 

As much as i know, the companion cavalry will use the rage advantage of the sarrissa. Meaning they don't charge all the way in, but stab from range. Altrough it is possible to charge even without stirups.



wolfiena #30 Posted 25 February 2018 - 08:29 AM

    Optio Centuriae

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 153
  • Member since:
    12-03-2017
RIP

XIIl_DarkDusT #31 Posted 26 February 2018 - 03:36 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 76
  • Member since:
    11-02-2017
Story of the forum, better not show it any longer and go discord/reddit right?




1 user(s) are reading this topic