Jump to content


Arena.exe and EAC error


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

Huzar79 #1 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:10 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012
Hello,
After today's patch introducing EAC can't start the game. I'm getting "Untrusted file error":

arena error.JPG

Kipland_Kinkill #2 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:18 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 10
  • Member since:
    11-25-2016

Mine is similar

 

Total War arena disabled dialogs 1.GB pre- allocated by launcher......

 

The instruction at 0x00000000579B538A REFERENCED MEMORY AT 0x00000000000000004. The memory could not be read
Click on OK to terminate the program

 

Thanks

 

Kipland



Huzar79 #3 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:21 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012
What makes things even more odd - nvwgf2um.dll is nVidia D3D10 driver according to the system. Cannot be deleted as it is system file and in use.

Xeir #4 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:21 AM

    Praefectus Castrorum

  • Praetorian
  • 1,245
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012

http://forum.totalwa...3134#entry23134

 

Block Quote

 

NEW - EasyAntiCheat Integration

We have integrated EasyAntiCheat into Total War: ARENA, with the intention of dissuading cheaters and countering hacking attempts that may have implications on the community experience. When launching this update for the first time you will be prompted to install EAC in order to launch and play the game. Further information can be found, including any FAQs, if you have installation and setup issues via their website: https://www.easyanticheat.net/.

 

 

 


Edited by Xeir, 24 October 2017 - 10:27 AM.


Huzar79 #5 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:29 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

View PostXeir, on 24 October 2017 - 10:21 AM, said:

 

And your point is? We know it is because of EAC, question is how come valid system file is considered harmful by EAC. And how to get around it.

Xeir #6 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:32 AM

    Praefectus Castrorum

  • Praetorian
  • 1,245
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012

View PostHuzar79, on 24 October 2017 - 12:29 PM, said:

 

And your point is? We know it is because of EAC, question is how come valid system file is considered harmful by EAC. And how to get around it.

 

 

My point is that:

For this problem respond https://www.easyanticheat.net/

And to them you should contact using ticked.

 

Wargaming or CA didin't created VAC they can't fix it since they don't respond for it.


Edited by Xeir, 24 October 2017 - 10:34 AM.


Huzar79 #7 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:51 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

View PostXeir, on 24 October 2017 - 10:32 AM, said:

 

 

My point is that:

For this problem respond https://www.easyanticheat.net/

And to them you should contact using ticked.

 

Wargaming or CA didin't created VAC they can't fix it since they don't respond for it.

 

I have tried solutions listed on EAC support site, and I already submitted ticket there, waiting for response.
However reasoning in your last sentence is wrong. WG and CA should be held responsible for troubleshooting as it is they who decided to use EAC with their game. None of WG games uses EAC, they have their own server-side anti cheat architecture in place. I am not sure why they opted on using EAC in TW Arena. 

Kipland_Kinkill #8 Posted 24 October 2017 - 10:58 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 10
  • Member since:
    11-25-2016

EAC is a steam addon and is now installed but how do you get the game to work with Wargaming.net?

 

Anyone with the fix would be appreciated.

 

As I am baffled.......and old and tired and the list goes on.

 

 



Xeir #9 Posted 24 October 2017 - 11:02 AM

    Praefectus Castrorum

  • Praetorian
  • 1,245
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012

View PostKipland_Kinkill, on 24 October 2017 - 12:58 PM, said:

EAC is a steam addon and is now installed but how do you get the game to work with Wargaming.net?

 

Anyone with the fix would be appreciated.

 

As I am baffled.......and old and tired and the list goes on.

 

 

 

You mean VAC, VAC is only for Steam

EAC is software not related with steam.


Edited by Xeir, 24 October 2017 - 11:02 AM.


Kipland_Kinkill #10 Posted 24 October 2017 - 11:22 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 10
  • Member since:
    11-25-2016

I was referred to here:

https://support.easy...setup/?lr=en-us

As you see it is on Steam.

 

The EasyAntiCheat client is available on Steam and is required for participating in EAC protected matches.

 

 

So my EAC has installed onto steam? This was done when I clicked for 2.2 to install. And is in my software location Steam?  

I am not too PC savvy and cannot find the EAC dl for Wargaming.net or where ever it goes.



Kipland_Kinkill #11 Posted 24 October 2017 - 11:29 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 10
  • Member since:
    11-25-2016

Finally Fixed.

 

  I uninstalled from STEAM and went onto Game settings on  Wargaming.net   Check and repair   now fixed 

 

Happy Gaming  odd why this happened but i do use a Nvidia shield to play TW ARENA through  my PC and with Steam active.

 

Anyhow  thanks and sorry Huzar79 if i hijacked your issue, again not to pc savvy and being a grandad I am slow to pick stuff up.

 

Hope fix helps.



Huzar79 #12 Posted 24 October 2017 - 11:52 AM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

View PostKipland_Kinkill, on 24 October 2017 - 11:29 AM, said:

Finally Fixed.

 

  I uninstalled from STEAM and went onto Game settings on  Wargaming.net   Check and repair   now fixed 

 

Happy Gaming  odd why this happened but i do use a Nvidia shield to play TW ARENA through  my PC and with Steam active.

 

Anyhow  thanks and sorry Huzar79 if i hijacked your issue, again not to pc savvy and being a grandad I am slow to pick stuff up.

 

Hope fix helps.

 

No problem at all Kipland. 

As of my problem - still no go. I've ran AntiMalware scan, re-validated system files, reinstalled both TW Arena and nVidia drivers (with clean uninstall, to make sure those files in question got deleted and replaced by eventual newer version), and went through countless posts not only on EAC site but also on official forums for games using EAC.
The general consensus is, that EAC is by no means the best anti-cheat system out there, it doesn't run heuristic scans on potentially harmful files - it only checks files location and flags them as untrusted if it doesn't match their database.

 

I wanted to play few battles with new patch before I go to work, and instead I am battling the system to even run the game. I'm voting for proper anti-cheat system as every gamer who wants fair playground in competitive gaming, but this is just frustrating. I hope EAC is only temporary solution before they implement proper anti-cheat measures server-side as in other WG games.

EDIT: and I don't even want to try to imagine how much frustration it may cause for those less tech savvy out there trying to fix it.


Edited by Huzar79, 24 October 2017 - 11:52 AM.


CA_Robert #13 Posted 24 October 2017 - 12:12 PM

    Tiro

  • Creative Assembly
  • 3
  • Member since:
    11-01-2016

Huzar79 can you try running the arena_launcher.exe from C:\Games\Total_War_Arena as an Administrator. 

 

See how that works out for you. 


Edited by CA_Robert, 24 October 2017 - 12:12 PM.


Huzar79 #14 Posted 24 October 2017 - 12:20 PM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

View PostCA_Robert, on 24 October 2017 - 12:12 PM, said:

Huzar79 can you try running the arena_launcher.exe from C:\Games\Total_War_Arena as an Administrator. 

 

See how that works out for you. 

 

Hello Robert,
arena_launcher.exe gives me exactly same error, no difference. Arena.exe starts the game, but it tells me that the Anti Cheat isn't on and the game quits. That's how I figured it is an issue with EAC rather than the game itself. 
I've already entered a ticket both on EAC site and on WG site btw. If you need more logs (DXdiag or even ComboFix) please say so and I will PM you with whatever is needed.

CA_Robert #15 Posted 24 October 2017 - 12:34 PM

    Tiro

  • Creative Assembly
  • 3
  • Member since:
    11-01-2016

Just to clarify you ran arena_launcher.exe in administration mode correct? 

 

Feel free to PM me your dxdiag. 



Huzar79 #16 Posted 24 October 2017 - 12:42 PM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

View PostCA_Robert, on 24 October 2017 - 12:34 PM, said:

Just to clarify you ran arena_launcher.exe in administration mode correct? 

 

Feel free to PM me your dxdiag. 

 

Yes, I ran it as Administrator. Also - DXdiag sent.

EDIT: I just looked at DX diag screen and found this:
 

Notes

 The file nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL).  You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer.

 

I am guessing this might cause the issue with EAC. Reinstalling different version of nVidia drivers once again to see if it helps. I will report soon.

Edited by Huzar79, 24 October 2017 - 12:50 PM.


Huzar79 #17 Posted 24 October 2017 - 01:05 PM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 11
  • Member since:
    01-22-2012

This solved the problem - looks like drivers I had on my HDD were Release Candidate version. Current nVidia drivers version I use: 23.21.13.8800

However - this shows quite a problem with EAC. Some people use RC drivers because they are fixing various performance problems in other games, sometimes those fixes aren't implemented into final versions, some people use RC and beta drivers for testing or hardware tweaking purposes, other people use modified drivers for the same reasons.

On the other hand - many cheat engines and malware uses valid system files to cover their activity.


The point is - if EAC relies only on WHQL signature or file location instead of using heuristic tests, it is basically useless and can lead to more issues than it is worth. Anyone who played RUST for a while (it uses EAC too as anti-cheat measure and it fails big time doing it) knows how useless it can be.
Since it is closed beta I really hope EAC is only a temporary solution and it will be changed for some more stable anti-cheat measures in the future.

 


Edited by Huzar79, 24 October 2017 - 01:11 PM.


Xeir #18 Posted 24 October 2017 - 01:12 PM

    Praefectus Castrorum

  • Praetorian
  • 1,245
  • Member since:
    02-06-2012

View PostHuzar79, on 24 October 2017 - 03:05 PM, said:

Since it is closed beta I really hope EAC is only a temporary solution and it will be changed for some more stable anti-cheat measures in the future.

EAC is responding for Paladins and many other games what people love to cheat and are popular.  Truth is that EAC is on TOP anti-Cheats softwares because they have a huge base of exploits what was used in these games, so they won't work in Arena.

 

Still people are creating cheats so if they will be used on one of these games its smaller chance they will be working on Arena.

 


Edited by Xeir, 24 October 2017 - 01:15 PM.


Kipland_Kinkill #19 Posted 24 October 2017 - 03:26 PM

    Munifex

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 10
  • Member since:
    11-25-2016
Happy to hear you solved the issue hope to fight alongside or chop off your knee caps on the field if against me. Bravo

lookbehind #20 Posted 10 November 2017 - 01:19 PM

    Tiro

  • Closed Alpha Gladiator
  • 3
  • Member since:
    11-09-2011

the same

 

Total War arena disabled dialogs 1.GB pre- allocated by launcher......

 

The instruction at 0x00000000579B538A REFERENCED MEMORY AT 0x00000000000000004. The memory could not be read
Click on OK to terminate the program

 

Thanks






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users